Bits and Snippets of the Philippines

Basic Reading of Global Filipinos

New Philippine Tourism Video is a Remake But a Good One

with 2 comments

Don’t get me wrong. It’s always awesome to promote your country of origin, especially doing so without expecting compensation in return. That’s exactly how these celebrities from the Philippines performed on the video. It is a remake of the old one created by the Department of Tourism but this time featuring new artists.

Is this better than the original one? What do you think?

Like RA7 Travel at Facebook

_

Written by Raffy Pekson II

August 13, 2011 at 7:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Firstly; I am very pro Philippines, so much so that I intend to come and live there early next year. But I don’t understand this video; it’s not a tourism video, because it shows very little of the Philippines. To me it’s a music video (and a good one) aimed at the Filipino market. It features mainly the singers and is not in English, which surprises me. Maybe I’m missing something, but I don’t understand how this will encourage tourists to visit the Philippines, and that is a shame.

    Excerpt from LinkedIn Group Manila Connect Business Network comment on discussion feed

    Like

    Alan Fairweather

    August 13, 2011 at 4:19 pm

  2. I’m very much interested in the Philippines, too, as I’ve become rather attached to a special person and family from there recently. Meaning that I believe I will make the Philippines a large part of my life from here on. So, I’m struck by the beauty of the video, the wonderful song and singers and the possible places to visit.

    But I do agree with the previous comment. This seems to be a tourism ad directed inward to the people of the Philippines (like the old ‘See America First’ campaign in the US some time back) rather than outward to the rest of the world, particularly the USA. If that’s the intent, then I’m sure it will work wonders, but it should still show less the entertainers and more of the Philippines itself with captions of the places that are being highlighted.

    Since I don’t understand tagalog, I can’t speak to the message, but the enthusiasm of the entertainers suggest that it is a very positive one.

    Like

    Tom Carrier

    September 28, 2011 at 4:46 am


Comments only. No ads, links or unrelated replies.

