Bits and Snippets of the Philippines

Basic Reading of Global Filipinos

Experience the New Kata M4s Smart Phone

leave a comment »

kata-finally-cracked-the-fast-response-4g-lte-mobile-phone-market-by-introducing-the-kata-m4s-1

Kata finally cracked the fast-response 4G/LTE mobile phone market by introducing the Kata M4s, one of the three good Kata smart phones I’ve ever handled. It looks like a winner, so far, and like most almost-a-phablet size, guys like me always go for the big versus the small.

MY KATA EXPERIENCE

The first was the Kata M1 which I bought second-hand from a friend more four years ago. I think it’s a 5.5-inch sized phone (or maybe a little bigger) with a whooping 4000+ mHa battery. It was an engineering unit and the battery gave up two years later; unreplaceable, it now sits as a relic to a good sub-P10,000 phone.

My second was the Kata i3, which I eventually gave to a friend of mine who needed a good, reliable phone. For a 3G device, it was one of the fast-response phones of Kata, even if I still opted for the bigger size. The status is “borrowed, not given.” I’m still sentimental with that phone though I won’t be using it anymore.

And then, we come to my newest Kata – the M4s. The first reaction was, “Oh! It responds fast compared to other Kata phones! I like this.” If you’ve handled many tier-2 smart phone brands (meaning not a Samsung and not an iPhone), especially the sub-P5,000 devices, you’ll really notice the sluggishness of response; it’s like tap-then-go-to-the-fridge-to-get-a-beer activity – well, sort of. The M1 and i3s were responded faster than most. The Kata M4s belongs to these fast response smart phones.

WHY I LIKE THE KATA M4S

I have the engineering unit of the Kata M4s which by definition is like a “Beta Test” device that Kata lent me. I’m not a die-hard techie who does hardware tests. My requirements are simple, and to simplify these, I decided to put in a table or worksheet format:

kata-finally-cracked-the-fast-response-4g-lte-mobile-phone-market-by-introducing-the-kata-m4s-2

Special mention are:

USB TYPE-C

I read that as far as Android-based phones are concerned, a USB Type-C connector is far better than your typical Micro USB version. For one, the latter can charge your phone up to 2.5 watts of power; the Type-C goes up to 100 watts. It’s reversible (don’t you hate it when it’s dark and you have to plug your phone? LOL!). It’s bi-directional, which means your phone can either send or receive power, something that can even charge your laptop which usually requires 60 watts. And the transfer rate is 5Gbps up to 10Gbps. Good choice, Kata!

FINGERPRINT SCANNER

The fingerprint scanner is also a nice touch, much like the iPhone 6s Plus I have. It makes it a little easier to get to the home screen (or whatever screen I left it) than having to tap in coded passwords. I haven’t had the chance to use it for other apps other than logging-in to my phone, but I’m sure the future of fingerprint scanners make the Kata M4s in tune with the times.

IT’S MADE OF GLASS

Though the front of any smart phone is made of clear glass, I’m surprised the back is also encased in glass. Wow! Which makes “the feel” of the Kata M4s a little on the heavy side but solid as a rock, so to speak. It’s like saying, “it’s not for the weak of heart”; “It’s not a dainty phone.” So, I like it.

However, they should have made it out of Gorilla Glass. It’s not; it’s simply glass-encased on top of its AMOLED (Active Matrix Organic LED) display. This means if you’re NOT the OCD type, it’s better to buy TWO clear, plastic films to protect both front and back of the phone from scratches, or any anti-scratches medium placed on top of the glass.

CURVED SIDES

I love that the Kata M4s curves on all sides, both faces, very much similar to the Samsung Edge; but not too much. The problem most people didn’t like about the Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge was the accidental tapping of the phone when one holds the phone on its edge. I had friends return back the Edge for the normal S6. The Kata M4s (probably) also knew people’s experience on the S6 Edge and made sure the Kata M4s wasn’t as edgy as the S6. So, yeah – that’s cool!

PRICE

There’s no announcement of the retail price for the Kata M4s but I’m guessing it will be above P10,000 but lower than P15,000. It will be good if goes sub-P10,000.

CONTACT

You may contact Kata at (02) 706-5395 local 2900, e-mail them at info@katadigital.com or visit their website at www.katadigital.com.

Note: This is not a paid post.

_

Comments only. No ads, links or unrelated replies.

